Back from vacation…happy to be home

28 Oct

It’s been so long since I’ve updated this blog (and even longer for Noah’s blog…sigh) so I don’t even know where to begin but to put it simply, we had a 17-day vacation to Taiwan and Noah turned one.

Now that Noah’s recovered from his jet lag and cold and I’ve caught up on laundry (did 5 loads yesterday, 1 more to go today), I’m hoping that I’ll be able to collect my thoughts and add some new posts. For anyone who’s thinking of taking young children (under 1 year) to Asia and not sure of what to prepare, I am planning to provide a summary of our trip and a few product recommendations (of course, without anyone holding me to this promise, who knows how long it will take me to write this piece?).

But for now, I’d just like to say, it’s good to be home. Even with all the housework and going back to the 12-hour a day childcare schedule, I’m glad that this is my “reality.”

I am surprised to find myself feeling this way (glad to be home back in the US) considering that I’ve been “pining” for Asia for a long time, pretty much throughout my pregnancy and all of this year. And the month or two before our trip, I had spent so much time researching about Taiwan (places to eat and visit) that you’d think I’d want to stay longer or enjoy the trip more.

Don’t get me wrong, we had a great time. Noah LOVED meeting all of his relatives in Taiwan and tasting all the exotic foods (I lifted the restriction on his diet since he was already 11 months old and starting to “demand” more table food). And as always, Charlie and I enjoyed being in urban Asia where “things” (the way of living, etc.) made more sense to us.

It was wonderful having all that family love, yummy food (and no clean-up!), and help with Noah.

But the truth is, I missed home. I missed our bed. I missed cooking and eating at home. I even missed our 12-year old mini van (with Noah’s car seat) and doing housework.

Whenever I get depressed or discouraged (usually the cause is physical exhaustion), Charlie would comment that it seems like I “hate my life.”  Though I strongly disagreed with the statement, Charlie’s observation makes me concerned nevertheless. What does he see that makes him think I’m unhappy all the time? What does his comment say about my daily well-being and attitude? Do I really hate being a homemaker that much?

And so it was with some relief to find myself missing our life here in the US. Even on days like this when chores and childcare seem like endless loops, I’m glad to be home. I was a little worried that our vacation would require another vacation to recover. And in some ways it did; our first week home was exhausting. It was challenging to jump right back into work and housework on very little sleep. But now that things have settled I’m starting to enjoy my time in our little castle again. It may be humble and messy and sometimes seem both “crowded’ and “empty” at the same time but it’s HOME.

… So any trip that helps me appreciate what we already have is a good trip in my book. I hope to be back to share some highlights of our trip soon.

This was our last lunch at the famous 鼎王麻辣鍋 malah hotpot restaurant in Taipei. Look at how Noah posed for the photo. Our boy really LOVES Taiwanese food!

Leave a Reply

