What’s for dinner?

1 May

I started taking photos of our food, both homecooked and restaurant made, years ago but so far have been too lazy to do much with the photos afterwards (except for two from French Laundry that I framed and put up on the wall). But tonight, while looking at our photo folder in Picasa, I realized that we have been pretty blessed food-wise and I really liked how some of the dishes turned out.

Believe it or not, I am working on several drafts of a few long (and probably boring) “essay” type of entries that I plan to post someday. However, considering that long chunks of free time are hard to come by and I’d rather be cooking or working on my crafts when they do, I think maybe I should just find something easy to write about and post often. I don’t know how long I can keep this up but nowadays we eat almost all dinners at home so I should have plenty to post and write about.

Since I’m either following someone else’ recipe (which I will mention when I do) or making something up. I won’t bother to post any recipes but I will try to provide them if there’s any interest. Just leave a note in the comment section.

To start, here are two dinners (yesterday and today) from this week:

Stewed pork belly & organic carrots

Stewed Pork Belly & Organic Carrots

Yes, that’s a plate full of fatty pork belly. I was craving pig’s feet and opted to make this instead. I made it “healthier” by adding organic carrots. Don’t worry, I won’t serve you this “heart attack” dish if you come to visit. ^_^

Asparagus with garlic aioli

Asparagus with garlic aioli

I was sick of sauteed asparagus and decided to serve it a different way. Charlie liked the aioli so I guess this is a keeper.

Organic radish in shiso dressing

Organic radish in shiso dressing

We got a bag of radishes in our produce delivery last week and I’ve been wondering what to do with it. So I cut up a few (this is 2 small radishes) to try with store-bought Japanese shiso dressing. This small portion was eaten up so quickly that I ended up cutting a few more. I think it was the salad dressing that did the job. I highly recommend picking up a bottle if you haven’t tried it before – will make almost all raw vegetables taste better.

Rosemary & Garlic Chicken

Rosemary & Garlic Chicken

To mix it up a bit tonight’s dinner was Western style. I defrosted one of the stockpiled packages of naturally raised chicken from Mitsuwa Supermarket and marinated it in rosemary, garlic, and lemon juice.

Dinner plate

The sides were leftover mushroom risotto (made by Charlie) and lightly blanched sugar snap peas (in Italian dressing) that we picked up at the Farmer’s Market on Sunday.

Okay, this was suppose to be a quick and EASY post but it’s taken me over an hour just to download the photos, upload them to WordPress and type the captions, a lot more time than it took me to cook the dishes >_<

Hopefully with more practice things will get easier but really, I need to look up a tutorial on WordPress…maybe it’s just me but their WYSIWYG tool isn’t intuitive. I am definitely not getting the results I see in my dashboard. Can someone tell me how to improve this?

Leave a Reply

