The joy of Resurrection Sunday

24 Apr

After a busy morning of attending a child’s birthday party at a playhouse, lunch, and spring plant shopping, we finally returned home around 2:30 pm.

And by 3:30 pm all of us were feeling the tiredness of the morning so we decided to nap at the same time, which is very rare for our household.

When N is in bed with us I usually have a hard time settling because he likes to wiggle, talk, and generally move around a lot before falling asleep. But when he finally did, I too settled into a light sleep.

Around 5:30 pm C and N woke up and left the room but I was still half asleep so I decided to nap longer though it seems like my mind started to process some things in the background…

Then around 6 pm all of a sudden I felt a great sense of excitement. “Tomorrow is Easter, resurrection Sunday!”

Having been a Christian for as long as I can remember, I find it incredible that I should have this thought and feeling now, so many years after I committed my life to Christ.

But it’s true. Today, I felt the undeniable sense of joy and anticipation because “Tomorrow Jesus will be risen!” Of course, since Jesus rose a long time ago, tomorrow’s celebration is just symbolic. But there was this new excitement in me that’s unexplainable – as if I was celebrating Easter and the resurrection of Christ for the first time.

Then the words to the song “Because He Lives” ran through my head:

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow

Because He lives, all fear is gone

Because I know He holds the future,

And life is worth the living just because He lives!

For the first time I truly “buried” myself with Jesus on Good Friday. So today, hours before the new dawn, I can look forward to experiencing God’s promise that there will be victory over death and destruction. And realizing what will (and has) come felt as if the unbearable load has been lifted off my shoulder, leaving an amazing sense of lightness of being and freedom.

Of course in the morning my circumstances will all still be the same. The events and relationships that plagued me during the week and in the past year have not changed. Come Sunday morning the clock will not be turned back and what was lost will still be gone. I will not be any wiser to what the future holds and trials will still come my way.

Yet, I have a new “I want to sing at the top of the mountain” kind of joy. I know it sounds trite but truly, “Praise be to God!”

Last night before sleeping I handed over to God, all of my greatest desires and dreams. I know that the old feelings of doubt and anxiety will surface often so I asked for peace and joy that is beyond understanding and today I received His blessed assurance.

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow

Because He lives, all fear is gone

Because I know He holds the future,

And life is worth the living just because He lives!

One Response to “The joy of Resurrection Sunday”

  1. mary April 24, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Dear Jenny
    Thank u for sharing your resurrection journey. It reminds me of king David’s life and his relationships. Psalm23 how the lord comfots and guide him through the valley of shadow and death and ultimately his cup overflows with God’s goodness and love.
    At the hospital I have been bonding with patients and families.. and its hard when my patients take a downturn and there seems to have no solution. Every time it happens it feels like I am losing a little friend that I care for. Your sharing is a great encouragement … may we continue to look up to our lord and be renewed by him. Luv, Mary.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

